7 Lessons After 7 Months in Silicon Valley

This post was originally published on Femgineer.

2014 has been a crazy whirlwind. I left my job in Corporate America on the East Coast, moved across the country, joined an early stage startup, shipped product, moved from SF to Palo Alto (the movers know me by name), and now I’m starting grad school back up again part-time, whew!

As I started packing for my trip home to visit my parents for the holidays, I couldn’t help but stop and reflect at what my first 7 months in Silicon Valley has been like — all the defeats, triumphs, and lessons learned. While I had mentors who prepared me for the transition, there were still things I wish someone had warned me about, which is why I’m sharing them with you!

If you’re thinking about relocating to Silicon Valley, I hope you’ll find this post useful.

If you’re already there, then I hope it reminds you of what it was like to be a Startup/Silicon Valley Newbie.

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

