Project Management: A Roundup

I apologize for being MIA the last few months. I started my masters this January, and I have yet to find the right balance between work, school, and a life.  (I have no excuse for the weeks prior. Ha.)

Anyway, one of the classes I am taking at JHU is Management of Systems Projects. The class gives us really great resources for future work as project managers. I thought I’d list them here.

(I plan to keep this document updated, and if you have suggestions, I’d love to add them here.)

Creating a Work Breakdown Structure
MIL-STD-881C, by the DoD, everything you need to know about the WBS, compliant to Federal standards.

Creating Statement of Work / Statement of Objectives
NPG 5600.2B, NASA’s guide to writing SOW
MIL-HDBK-245D, the DoD’s guide to the SOW. I like this one better since it also covers the SOO.

Earned Value Management
Systems Engineering Guide from MITRE
NASA’s guide to the EVM, complete with tutorials and a reference card!

PMP Handbook

Websites, Etc.

PMPodcast
ProjectManagement.com (previously gantthead.com)
PMHut.com
PMTips.net
projectsmart.co.uk’s articles

Specific to Software

How To Keep Your Startup On Track With Project Management

Experiences and lessons on
outsourcing: Optimizing Outsourcing
keeping talent: Retaining Startup Engineers

All about software schedules: Evidence Based Schedudling
The ultimate basics and books to read:
How to be a Program Manager

What happens inside Facebook Engineering: How Facebook Ships Code

Fog Creek Software’s MBA reading list (which I am…slowly but surely, making progress on…) and the Making Better Software video training series. You have to buy or rent it, but it’s REALLY GREAT CONTENT!

Leave a Reply

